Virtual Professional Development Workshop for Early Career Scholars

The Early Career Development Committee of the Industry Studies Association is pleased to announce the 2020 Virtual Professional Development Workshop (PDW) for early-career industry studies scholars. It will take place on Wednesday, June 3, 2020.

Faculty development is a core component of the mission of the Industry Studies Association. The PDW supports early-career scholars engaged in industry studies research by providing career-related advice and the opportunity to form a network of junior and senior colleagues. In addition, the PDW brings together scholars across the wide range of disciplines and industries represented by the ISA, enabling greater interdisciplinary collaboration. We invite both junior faculty (assistant professors) and advanced doctoral students to participate.

The PDW provides a friendly and open forum for early career scholars to meet with senior faculty mentors and one another. This year’s PDW program will include two panel discussions: one focused on the “Backstories Behind Industry Studies Research” featuring scholars who have published exemplary industry studies research, and the other focused on advice and tips for funding in-depth research provided by program officers from several foundations. In addition, the PDW participants will work with senior faculty in  facilitated virtual round tables. 


The PDW will be held in conjunction with the 2020 Industry Studies Association Virtual Conference. Participants are asked to submit a half to one-page description of their research before May 22. To foster informality, collegiality, and open discussion, the workshop will be limited to 50 participants. Registration for the PDW is available through the conference registration page (conference registration is required to participate in the PDW)

Register Here

Faculty Mentors

Avner Ben-Ner (University of Minnesota)
Adam Fremeth (University of Western Ontario)
Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld (Brandeis University)
Susan Helper (Case Western Reserve University)
Mahka Moeen (University of North Carolina)
Frank Nagle (Harvard University)
Michael Santoro (Lehigh University)
Soroush Saghafian (Harvard University)
Sonali Shah (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Suzanne de Treville (Universite de Lausanne)
Gurneeta Vasudeva Singh (University of Minnesota) 

PDW Event Schedule

1:00 - 1:45pm ET
Mentor Panel: Behind the Scenes of Industry Studies Research

1:45 - 2:00pm ET
Screen Break

2:00 - 2:45pm ET
Roundtable 1: Attendees will be assigned to breakout rooms

2:45 - 3:00pm ET
Screen Break

3:00 - 3:45pm ET
Roundtable 2: Attendees will be assigned to breakout rooms

3:45 - 4:00pm ET
Screen Break

4:00 - 4:45pm ET
Funding Panel

Funding Panel

Georgia Chao (NSF)
Sareeta Amrute (Data & Society)
Kauffman Foundation


Contact: [email protected]