The Ralph Gomory Best Industry Studies Paper Award was established by the Industry Studies Association and named for Ralph Gomory, who as President of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation established and steadfastly supported an Industry Studies Program. With this award, the Association seeks to showcase excellent industry studies research published in the preceding year in a selection of seven top academic journals. Through this award, the Industry Studies Association hopes to encourage more researchers to submit their industry studies papers to this set of leading scholarly journals, and to recognize the journals and their editors who value research that explores the industry context deeply. As part of its mission, the Industry Studies Association seeks to promote excellent industry studies research that builds relationships with practitioners to gain access to primary data, brings the contextual knowledge gathered in the field to bear on the formation of research questions and research design, and uses that knowledge to guide data analysis, interpretations, and conclusions.


The Industry Studies Association strives to recognize outstanding scholarship with awards. Because of the financial support of dedicated Industry Studies Association members and friends we are able to recognize our colleagues and their research. We thank the generous support of our donors listed below. If you would like to donate to the Industry Studies Association's general use fund or the Ralph Gomory Award please select the donate menu button above or click here. We appreciate your support.  

Richard Lounsbery Foundation

Hirsh Cohen John Paul MacDuffie Frank Mayadas Gail Pesyna
Fred Abernathy Eileen Appelbaum Melissa Appleyard Jay Apt
Rose Batt Peter Berg Dan Breznitz Shiri Breznitz
Clair Brown Amy Cohn Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld Jane Davies
Jason Dedrick Peter Doeringer Stan Finkelstein Ann Frost
Frank Giarratani David Hart Susan Helper David Hodges
Jody Hoffer Gittell Kent Hughes Chip Hunter Chickery Kasouf
Jean Kinsey Tom Kochan Cynthia Kroll Julia Lane
Stefanie Lenway Richard Lester Arie Lewin David Lewin
Ravi Madhavan Pat McCarthy Tom Murtha Geoff Parker
Daniel Roos Frank Rothaermel Sonali Shah Peter Warrian
 David Weil Chelsea (Chip) White Valery Yakubovich  

Past Winners